STAY CONNECTED      Facebook Logo
Council – 2020-2021
President | Président
Marek Stastna, Waterloo
 Vice-President | Vice-président
Jim Abraham, Halifax
 Past-President | Présidente sortant
Kim Strong, Toronto
 Recording Secretary | Secrétaire de rédaction
Alexandre Audette, Toronto
 Corresponding Secretary | Secrétaire correspondante
Diane Pendlebury, Toronto
 Treasurer | Trésorier
Amir Shabbar, Toronto
 Councillor-at-large – Scientific Committee co-chair | Conseiller – coprésident du comité scientifique
Clark Richards, Halifax Timothy Merlis, Montreal
 Councillor-at-large | Conseiller
Aldona Wiacek, Halifax Bruce Sutherland, Edmonton Christopher Poitras, Calgary Dominique Paquin, Montreal Felicia Kolonjari, Toronto Iain Russell, Toronto Laura Bianucci, Sidney, BC
Councillor-at-large | Conseiller
President | Présidente
Councillor-at-large | Conseiller:
Bruce Sutherland

Bruce Sutherland received his PhD in atmospheric science in the Department of Physics at the University of Toronto in 1994 then pursued postdoctoral training in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at the University of Cambridge before taking up a position in 1997 as Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Alberta.
He is now a Professor jointly appointed in the Departments of Physics and of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Alberta. His research combines theory, numerical simulations and laboratory experiments to examine phenomena occurring in stratified fluid. Main topics include interfacial and vertically propagating internal waves, the evolution of gravity currents and plumes in stratified fluids, and the transport and deposition of sediments in geophysical flows.