Council – 2020-2021
President | Président
Marek Stastna, Waterloo
 Vice-President | Vice-président
Jim Abraham, Halifax
 Past-President | Présidente sortant
Kim Strong, Toronto
 Recording Secretary | Secrétaire de rédaction
Alexandre Audette, Toronto
 Corresponding Secretary | Secrétaire correspondante
Diane Pendlebury, Toronto
 Treasurer | Trésorier
Amir Shabbar, Toronto
 Councillor-at-large – Scientific Committee co-chair | Conseiller – coprésident du comité scientifique
Clark Richards, Halifax Timothy Merlis, Montreal
 Councillor-at-large | Conseiller
Aldona Wiacek, Halifax Bruce Sutherland, Edmonton Christopher Poitras, Calgary Dominique Paquin, Montreal Felicia Kolonjari, Toronto Iain Russell, Toronto Laura Bianucci, Sidney, BC
  President | Président
  President | Président
President | Président: 
Marek Stastna

Marek Stastna received his PhD in Applied Mathematics from the University of Waterloo in 2001. After three years as a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Atmospheric Physics group at the University of Toronto, Marek returned to the University of Waterloo where he is presently a Professor of Applied Mathematics.

Marek served on the NSERC Geosciences Discovery Grant Evaluation Group from 2011 to 2013, the latter two years as co-chair. Marek also served as Associate Dean Computing for the Mathematics faculty at the University of Waterloo from 2014 to 2017. Marek's research interests, in the broad sense, cover computational modeling and software design in the environmental system, with a focus on internal waves in stratified fluids such as lakes and the coastal ocean.

Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
12W108 - 200 Kent Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0E6



Join CMOS | Member Login | Français |